Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
Jump to a section
- What is the best electric toothbrush? The short answer
- How much do you want to spend?
- The questions people actually hesitate over
- Oral-B iO Series 3
- Oral-B Pro 1000
- Philips Sonicare 4100
- Philips Sonicare 5900
- Philips Sonicare 7300
- Oral-B iO Series 9
- Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige
- Laifen Wave Pro
- Aquasonic Black Series
- Bitvae D2
- SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush
- Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321)
- Best electric toothbrush 2025 vs 2026: what changed
- Best electric toothbrush for your situation
- How to choose an electric toothbrush in about a minute
- Which Oral-B, which Sonicare?
- The whole range in one table
- Electric toothbrush reviews behind this list
- Brushes we left off, and why
- How we chose
- While you are here: the two minutes
- Things readers check with us
Most “best electric toothbrush” lists answer a question nobody asked: which brush has the most features. What people actually want to know is closer to which one won’t make my gums worse, won’t die in a year, and won’t cost a fortune in heads. That’s the list below.
If you only read one paragraph: buy a brush with a pressure sensor and a two-minute timer, pick the cleaning style you’ll tolerate every morning (Oral-B’s small spinning head or Sonicare’s buzzing, toothbrush-shaped one), and budget for a new head every three months. Everything past that is comfort and convenience.
What is the best electric toothbrush? The short answer
For most adults it’s the Oral-B iO Series 3: a quiet iO motor, a light that turns red when you press too hard, and on Amazon US it now comes as a bundle with two extra heads and a travel case for about $110. If that’s more than you want to spend, the Oral-B Pro 1000 cleans nearly as well for about $50. If spinning heads feel harsh or your gums are sensitive, the Philips Sonicare 4100 is the gentle choice at about $50, and the Sonicare 5900 is the one to buy if you want Philips’ 2026 range.
| Brush | Picked for | Type | Price on Oct 30, 2026 | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral-B iO Series 3 | Best for most adults | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive | about $110 | Price |
| Oral-B Pro 1000 | Best for the money | Oscillating-rotating with pulsation | about $50 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 4100 | Best gentle brush under $50 | Sonic (31,000 movements a minute) | about $50 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 5900 | Best for sensitive teeth and gums | Sonic, Next-Generation drivetrain | about $90 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 7300 | Best for gum care and travel | Sonic, Next-Generation drivetrain (62,000 movements a minute) | about $140 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Series 9 | Best smart toothbrush | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive | Varies | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige | Best premium sonic | Sonic with SenseIQ adaptive power | about $380 | Price |
| Laifen Wave Pro | Longest battery | Hybrid: 60° oscillation plus 66,000 vibrations a minute | about $100 | Price |
| Aquasonic Black Series | Best under $40 | Sonic (40,000 vibrations a minute) | about $40 | Price |
| Bitvae D2 | Best for the smallest budget | Sonic | about $25 | Price |
| SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush | Best design and eco option | Sonic | about $135 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321) | Best for kids | Sonic, kid sized | about $35 | Price |
How much do you want to spend?
Most people arrive with a number in their head rather than a model. Here is what each step up the price list actually gets you, and where it stops making a difference.
What your money actually buys
You get a sonic motor, a timer and a bag of heads. What you do not get is a pressure warning, which is the one feature with a clinical reason behind it.

Our pick in this bandBitvae D2
about $25 on Oct 30, 2026, head prices vary
- Cleaning actionSonic
- Pressure warningNo
- HeadsBitvae heads (8 in the box)
The step that matters most. This is where a pressure warning arrives, and where cleaning stops improving much however much more you spend.

Our pick in this bandOral-B Pro 1000
about $50 on Oct 30, 2026, about $187 over three years
- Cleaning actionOscillating-rotating with pulsation
- Pressure warningYes: pulsing stops when you press too hard (no light)
- HeadsClassic Oral-B round heads (CrossAction, Sensitive, 3D White)
Quieter motors, a warning you can see rather than feel, more intensity levels, and usually a travel case. Comfort rather than cleaning.

Our pick in this bandOral-B iO Series 3
about $110 on Oct 30, 2026, about $212 over three years
- Cleaning actionOscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive
- Pressure warningSmart sensor: red when too hard, green when right
- HeadsiO heads (Ultimate Clean, Gentle Care, Radiant White)
A screen, an app, a charging case and materials that feel expensive. Nothing here removes more plaque than the band below it.

Our pick in this bandPhilips Sonicare 9900 Prestige
about $380 on Oct 30, 2026, about $537 over three years
- Cleaning actionSonic with SenseIQ adaptive power
- Pressure warningYes: light ring, and SenseIQ turns the power down
- HeadsA3 Premium All-in-One
The questions people actually hesitate over
Nobody abandons a toothbrush purchase because they could not find a feature list. They abandon it because of one unanswered worry. These are the sixteen we get asked, each with the answer first, the thing we checked, and where to go next.
Will an electric brush push my gums back?
Not on its own. Recession comes from force and from sawing sideways, and a powered head removes the sawing. Buy a handle that tells you when you are pressing, then rest it on the tooth and let it work.
What we checkedEvery brush on this page over $50 warns you about pressure. The Pro 1000 stops pulsing; the iO3 turns its neck ring red; Sonicare handles buzz in your hand.
Our pick for thisOral-B iO Series 3Price
My gums bleed when I brush. Should I stop?
No. Bleeding usually means that edge of gum is inflamed and under-cleaned, and it settles once the plaque at the gum line goes. Give it two weeks of gentle, complete brushing. If it is still bleeding after that, book a dentist rather than buying another brush.
What we checkedSonicare’s Gum Health mode and Oral-B’s Sensitive mode both drop the power rather than change the motion, which is why they feel kinder on a sore gum line.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 4100Price
How much will the replacement heads cost me?
Roughly $30 to $60 a year per person at four heads a year, which over three years usually beats what you paid for the handle. Price the heads before you pick the brush, not after.
What we checkedGenuine heads we priced on Amazon US on October 30 ran from about $2.49 each (Aquasonic, eight in a box) to about $18.46 each (Quip Rev).
Our pick for thisAquasonic Black SeriesPrice
Are the cheap heads on Amazon counterfeit?
Some are. Fakes concentrate in third-party multipacks of Oral-B and Sonicare heads, and the tell is usually bristles that splay inside a month and a collar that rocks on the shaft.
What we checkedWhen we searched for Bitvae D2 refills on October 30, Amazon US showed only third-party packs and no brand store listing.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price
I already have heads. Will they fit a new handle?
Only inside the same family. Oral-B iO heads fit iO handles and nothing else, classic round heads fit every Oral-B that is not an iO, and any modern click-on Sonicare head fits any modern Sonicare handle.
What we checkedWe mapped every handle on this site to its head family and the price of a genuine pack.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price
How long before the battery dies, and can it be replaced?
Three to five years is the normal range, and on almost every sealed handle the battery is the end of the brush. Nobody sells you a replacement cell, so treat the warranty length as a hint about how much the brand expects it to last.
What we checkedWarranties on the handles here are two years at Oral-B and Philips. Laifen quotes up to 70 days per charge, which means far fewer charge cycles over the same years.
Our pick for thisLaifen Wave ProPrice
Is a $380 brush actually better than a $50 one?
Not at cleaning. Past a pressure warning and a timer you are paying for a quieter motor, a screen, a charging case and an app. Those are nice. They do not remove more plaque.
What we checkedThe $50 Pro 1000 and the $380 Prestige 9900 use the same two ideas: move the bristles faster than a hand can, and stop you pressing.
Our pick for thisOral-B Pro 1000Price
Oral-B or Sonicare? They feel nothing alike.
They are two different jobs. Oral-B polishes one tooth at a time with a small spinning head. Sonicare vibrates a normal-shaped head and cleans more by sweep than by scrub. Pick the one you will still be using in March.
What we checkedTrials give the oscillating style a small edge on plaque. Owner reviews give Sonicare the edge on comfort and noise. Both beat a manual brush.
Our pick for thisOral-B iO Series 3Price
Do I need the app and the sensors?
Most people open it for a week. The models that carry an app are worth buying for the extra modes, the charging case and the quieter drive, and you can treat the tracking as a free extra.
What we checkedThe iO9 maps 16 zones and the 7300 tracks brushing too, but both clean with the same heads and the same motors as the cheaper handles in their own ranges.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 7300Price
I have crowns, veneers or implants. Is a powered brush safe?
Yes, with a soft or sensitive head on a gentle setting. What damages dental work is an abrasive whitening head worked hard along the margin, not the motor.
What we checkedWhitening heads carry a polishing cup and stiffer bristles. Sensitive and gum care heads in the same packs do not.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5900Price
Will it wake the person still asleep?
A classic geared Oral-B is the loudest brush here and it rattles through a wall. An iO or any sonic handle is a hum you can brush next to someone with.
What we checkedThe iO range swapped gears for a magnetic drive, which is the single biggest change in noise between Oral-B handles.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5900Price
Can I take it abroad, and will it go on a plane?
On a plane yes: a sealed battery inside a brush travels in hand luggage. Abroad, read the base before you plug it in. Sonicare stands and USB-C handles are usually marked 100 to 240V and need only a plug adapter. Oral-B ships region-specific bases, and a US one often reads 110V, which needs a converter or a local base.
What we checkedOral-B’s own support page says its chargers are region specific and lists 110V, 220 to 240V and 100 to 240V bases separately. The number is printed on the underside.
Our pick for thisLaifen Wave ProPrice
The one in the shop has a different number. Is it the same brush?
Usually yes. Philips in particular sells one handle under several numbers depending on what is in the box, and a club-store bundle is often the same motor with extra heads.
What we checkedAmazon US sells two Sonicare 4100 versions side by side at the same price: the older HX3681 and the July 2026 HX4031 with three intensities.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price
Should I buy now or wait for a sale?
Oral-B and Sonicare handles discount hard and often, so if you are not replacing a dead brush this week, decide the price you will pay and wait for it. Heads almost never discount.
What we checkedThe iO3 is sold on Amazon US as a bundle with two heads and a case, which is why its list price sits higher than older reviews quote.
Our pick for thisOral-B iO Series 3Price
Will it actually whiten my teeth?
It lifts surface stain from coffee, tea and tobacco, and that often reads as whiter. It cannot change the colour of the tooth underneath, and no brush can.
What we checkedWhitening modes on these handles change speed and add a polishing cup. None of them carry peroxide, which is what changes the shade.
Our pick for thisOral-B iO Series 3Price
Is it really better than a $3 manual brush?
On average yes, by a modest amount, and the gap is widest for people who rush. The timer is doing as much work as the motor.
What we checkedReviews of the clinical trials put powered brushes ahead of manual ones on both plaque and gum inflammation, with the largest reported effects on the oscillating style.
Our pick for thisOral-B Pro 1000Price
Best for most adults

Oral-B iO Series 3
- Cleaning actionOscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive
- Pressure warningSmart sensor: red when too hard, green when right
- BatteryAbout 2 weeks
- HeadsiO heads (Ultimate Clean, Gentle Care, Radiant White)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $110
The best mix of cleaning, gum protection and comfort for most adults. The iO3 is the cheapest way into Oral-B’s magnetic iO drive, and that drive is why you’d buy it: the same small round head moves with far less noise and rattle than older Oral-Bs, so it feels precise rather than aggressive. People who gave up on Oral-B because of the buzz tend to stay with this one.
The light ring around the neck is what protects your gums: green when your pressure is right, red when you’re scrubbing. Gum recession is often a pressure problem, and a light you can see in the mirror is easier to obey than the pulse-and-pause warning on cheaper brushes. Three modes (Daily Clean, Sensitive, Whitening) cover what most people need.
Two things to know. On Amazon US the iO3 is now sold as a “Limited” bundle with two replacement heads and a travel case, which is why it costs more than older reviews suggest. And iO heads only fit iO handles, at about $10 a head in a five-pack when we checked.
Best for the money

Oral-B Pro 1000
- Cleaning actionOscillating-rotating with pulsation
- Pressure warningYes: pulsing stops when you press too hard (no light)
- BatteryAbout 1 to 2 weeks
- HeadsClassic Oral-B round heads (CrossAction, Sensitive, 3D White)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $50
The proven, no-frills Oral-B that dental offices hand out, for about $50. It uses Oral-B’s classic spinning head with an extra pulsing motion, has a two-minute timer that nudges you every 30 seconds, three modes on the US version, and stops pulsing when you press too hard. That’s the whole feature list, and it’s enough. It’s also one of the most-reviewed electric toothbrushes on Amazon, on sale since 2010.
What you give up: it’s loud, the battery is merely fine (plan on charging every week or so), and there’s no case. Heads are the classic Oral-B round type sold everywhere. One caution on running costs: the only genuine head pack Amazon US showed us on October 30 was a two-pack at about $12.50 a head, so shop around or buy bigger packs in stores.
Best gentle brush under $50

Philips Sonicare 4100
- Cleaning actionSonic (31,000 movements a minute)
- Pressure warningYes: the handle pulses
- BatteryUp to 14 days
- HeadsC2 Optimal Plaque Control (click-on)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $50
The gentle, quiet Sonicare for about $50, with a pressure sensor. If you’ve tried an Oral-B and hated the feel, this is where to go. Sonic brushes vibrate a regular-shaped head very quickly; the tingle takes about a week to stop noticing. The handle pulses when you press too hard, the timer paces you every 30 seconds, and the battery is rated at up to 14 days.
Amazon now sells two versions side by side at the same price. The July 2026 refresh (model HX4031) lists three intensity settings and an EasyStart ramp over your first 14 brushes, which makes it the better pick for sensitive teeth. Genuine C2 heads were about $10 each in a three-pack.
Best for sensitive teeth and gums

Philips Sonicare 5900
- Cleaning actionSonic, Next-Generation drivetrain
- Pressure warningYes: haptic buzz when you press too hard
- BatteryUp to 21 days
- HeadsC3 Two-in-one (click-on)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $90
Philips’ 2026 range at a sensible price: three intensities, a haptic pressure warning and up to 21 days of battery for about $90. You get two modes (Clean and Gum Health), the newer 20-second pacer, and two C3 heads. It’s been on Amazon since December 2025.
Why pick it over the 4100: the softer lowest setting and Gum Health mode suit tender gums, and the battery lasts half again as long. Why not: no travel case, no app, and its C3 heads were the priciest regular Sonicare heads we priced, at about $15 each in a two-pack. Read our full 5900 review.
Best for gum care and travel

Philips Sonicare 7300
- Cleaning actionSonic, Next-Generation drivetrain (62,000 movements a minute)
- Pressure warningYes: light ring at the base
- BatteryUp to 21 days
- HeadsA3 Premium All-in-One (click-on)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $140
A light-ring pressure warning, a Gum Health mode and a case that charges the brush, for about $140. If you’ve seen 2026 lists recommending the Sonicare 7100, this is the model Amazon US actually stocks: four modes, three intensities, the app, a 21-day battery and three A3 heads in the box. Over three years it costs only about $30 more than the 5900 because of those extra heads. No wall plug is included. See our 7300 review.
Best smart toothbrush

Oral-B iO Series 9
- Cleaning actionOscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive
- Pressure warningSmart sensor: red too hard, white too soft, green right
- BatteryAbout 2 weeks
- HeadsiO heads
The smart brush whose features you’ll still use after the novelty fades: a colour screen on the handle and a charging case. It also has app tracking across 16 zones, seven modes and the smart pressure sensor that warns when you’re too hard or too soft. It cleans the same as the iO3 because it uses the same motor and heads; you’re paying for feedback and convenience.
The listing we track had no main Amazon offer on October 30, so check the price when you click through and don’t pay anywhere near the top of its range. With the iO10 no longer listed on Amazon US, the iO9 is now the top iO there; our iO5 vs iO9 page explains whether the screen is worth it.
Best premium sonic

Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige
- Cleaning actionSonic with SenseIQ adaptive power
- Pressure warningYes: light ring, and SenseIQ turns the power down
- BatteryUp to 14 days
- HeadsA3 Premium All-in-One
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $380
Sonicare’s flagship, about $380: SenseIQ turns the power down when you press too hard, and it comes with a charging case. It has five modes, three intensities, an app and a light-ring pressure warning, in a slim handle that feels expensive. The A3 heads cost about $14 each, so it’s the priciest brush here to own.
Watch the model number. Since August 31, 2026, Amazon also sells a Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige (HX9834) at the same price, with a screen on the handle and eight modes. Our old vs Next-Gen Prestige page shows how to tell them apart.
Longest battery

Laifen Wave Pro
- Cleaning actionHybrid: 60° oscillation plus 66,000 vibrations a minute
- Pressure warningYes: warns you and slows the motor
- BatteryUp to 70 days (Laifen figure)
- HeadsLaifen heads (Pro Series packs fit all Laifen models)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $100
Up to 70 days per charge by Laifen’s figure, with a pressure sensor and an app, from about $100. The head sweeps through a 60-degree arc and vibrates 66,000 times a minute, which feels like neither an Oral-B nor a Sonicare. It has two modes with three intensities each, IPX8 water resistance and a wireless base that plugs into USB-C. The plastic version is about $100; aluminium about $120; clear and stainless about $130. Heads are cheap at about $5 each in a six-pack.
The risk is the ecosystem: heads come only from Laifen, and the brand has less of a track record than Oral-B or Philips.
Best under $40

Aquasonic Black Series
- Cleaning actionSonic (40,000 vibrations a minute)
- Pressure warningNo
- BatteryAbout 4 weeks
- HeadsAquasonic DuPont heads (8 in the box)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $40
About $40 for an ADA-accepted sonic brush, a wireless charger, a travel case and eight heads. Those heads last two years, and genuine refills were about $2.50 each, so its three-year cost is the lowest of any brush we price. What’s missing is a pressure sensor, so it suits people who already brush gently. The newer Black Series PRO (about $60) adds a stronger motor, five modes and a 30-day battery, but still no pressure sensor.
Best for the smallest budget

Bitvae D2
- Cleaning actionSonic
- Pressure warningNo
- BatteryUp to 60 days (Bitvae figure)
- HeadsBitvae heads (8 in the box)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $25
About $25 for an ADA-accepted sonic brush with a 60-day battery and eight heads. It has five modes, a 30-second pacer and a travel case that doubles as a stand. There’s no pressure sensor and the centre bristles are firm, so it isn’t for receding gums. When we searched for refills, Amazon only had third-party packs. Full Bitvae D2 review.
Best design and eco option

SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush
- Cleaning actionSonic
- Pressure warningYes
- BatteryOver 4 weeks (SURI figure)
- HeadsPlant-based heads, castor-oil bristles (medium-soft)
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $135
The best-looking brush here, with cheap recyclable heads and an optional UV-C case. The SURI Pro (model S2, the successor to what older reviews call Suri 2.0) has an aluminium body, a pressure sensor, over four weeks of battery and USB-C, about $135 with the UV case or $105 without. Heads were about $6.33 each. The new SURI Core (about $75) keeps the pressure sensor and battery in a bio-based body. Bristles are medium-soft, which is firmer than sensitive heads.
Best for kids

Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321)
- Cleaning actionSonic, kid sized
- Pressure warningNo
- BatteryNot stated on listing
- HeadsSonicare for Kids compact / standard
- Amazon price, Oct 30, 2026about $35
The Bluetooth app turns two minutes of brushing into a game, for about $35. It starts gently, has two power modes, a kid-sized head and a KidTimer that builds up to two minutes. For a toddler or a pre-teen the answer changes, so read our best electric toothbrush for kids, by age.
Best electric toothbrush 2025 vs 2026: what changed
If you’re comparing this page with a list from last year, some of it is now out of date.
- Several 2025 favourites aren’t on Amazon US any more. When we checked on October 30, 2026, we couldn’t find current listings for the Oral-B iO10, the Oral-B Vitality Pro or Philips One, and the only “2026 Sonicare 7100” was one imported European unit from a reseller.
- Sonicare’s 2026 models arrived in December 2025, not January: the 5900 and 7300 were both listed on December 7.
- The Sonicare 4100 was refreshed in July 2026 (HX4031) with three intensities. The older HX3681 is still sold alongside it.
- There are now two “9900 Prestige” brushes. The Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige and a Next-Gen DiamondClean 8500 arrived on August 31, 2026.
- The Suri 2.0 has been replaced by the SURI Pro (model S2), which adds a pressure sensor, and a cheaper SURI Core launched in August 2026.
- Quip’s Rev spins rather than buzzes. It’s an oscillating brush now, and a Rev Smart with an app arrived in January 2026.
- Dyson’s CameraJet isn’t sold on Amazon US; a search there returns other brands. Our CameraJet explainer has the background.
Best electric toothbrush for your situation
| If this sounds like you | Read |
|---|---|
| Gums bleed when you brush | Best electric toothbrush for gum disease |
| Cold drinks make you wince | Best electric toothbrush for sensitive teeth |
| Gums are pulling back | Best for receding gums |
| Braces or aligners | Best electric toothbrush for braces |
| Buying for a child | Best electric toothbrush for kids |
| Buying for a parent, or grip is hard | Best for seniors |
| Never used an electric brush | Best for beginners |
| Want what dentists suggest | Dentist-recommended picks |
| Want brushing and flossing in one | Toothbrush and water flosser combos |
| Choosing between Oral-B iO models | Which Oral-B iO to buy |
| Shopping in Britain | Best electric toothbrush UK |
| Waiting for a sale | Electric toothbrush deals |
| Want the crowd view | What Reddit recommends and what testers agree on |
| Crowns, veneers or implants | Picks that suit dental work |
| The box number doesn’t match the review | Model numbers decoded |
| Worried the cheap heads are fake | How to spot a counterfeit head |
| Wondering how long it will last | Battery life and lifespan |
Still not sure? Answer two questions and we’ll narrow it to one brush.
Two questions, one brush
How to choose an electric toothbrush in about a minute
Spinning or sonic? Oral-B’s small round head rotates back and forth and cleans tooth by tooth. Sonicare-style brushes vibrate a normal-shaped head very fast. In clinical trials the oscillating style has shown a small edge for plaque; the gentler feel of sonic suits many people with sensitivity. Both beat a manual brush. More in our sonic vs oscillating guide and the types of electric toothbrushes.
Pressure sensor: yes. Brushing too hard is one of the most common causes of gum recession and worn enamel at the gumline.
Timer: yes. Nearly every brush has one.
Look at the heads before the handle. Over three years you’ll buy around a dozen, and that’s where cheap brushes get expensive.
Handle Replacement heads
Check the heads before you fall for a handle
Heads are the part of this purchase that keeps costing you money, and the part shops never explain. Pick the handle you are leaning towards and see what a year of its heads costs your household.
Which heads fit, and what a year of them costs
Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on)
FitsEvery iO handle, from the iO2 up to the iO10, including the kids' iO.
Will not fitAny Oral-B that is not an iO. The shaft and the magnet are different.
iO heads carry a small chip that tells the handle which head is on, which is part of why they cost more than classic round heads.
Handles that share itiO2, iO3, iO5, iO9, iO10, iO Kids
Oral-B round (classic shaft)
FitsEvery non-iO Oral-B handle sold in the last fifteen years: Vitality, Pro, Smart, Genius.
Will not fitiO handles, and Oral-B's own kids' battery brushes, which take a smaller head.
The widest choice of any family, and the one most copied. CrossAction, Sensitive, Precision Clean and 3D White all fit the same shaft.
Handles that share itPro 1000, Vitality Pro, Pro 3 3500
Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3)
FitsAny modern Sonicare handle that takes a head you push on rather than screw on.
Will not fitSonicare's own kids' handles, Philips One, and very old Sonicare models with a screw fitting.
This is the most forgiving family on the market. A C2 head from a 4100 will click onto a Prestige 9900, so paying more for an A3 head is a choice and not a requirement.
Handles that share itSonicare 4100, Sonicare 5300, Sonicare 5900, Sonicare 7100, Sonicare 7300, Prestige 9900, Next-Gen 9900
Sonicare for Kids
FitsBoth Sonicare kids' handles, in compact and standard sizes.
Will not fitAdult Sonicare handles.
Compact until about seven, standard after that. The handle is the same either way.
Handles that share itSonicare for Kids, Design a Pet
Oral-B Kids
FitsOral-B's kids' rechargeable and battery handles.
Will not fitAdult Oral-B handles, iO or classic.
The cheapest heads in this table, which matters when a six year old chews one.
Handles that share itOral-B Kids 3+, Oral-B Kids battery
Laifen
FitsEvery Laifen handle; the Pro Series packs are cross-compatible.
Will not fitAnything that is not a Laifen.
Cheap heads, but a single supplier. If Laifen stops selling in your market you have a handle and no refills.
Handles that share itWave Pro
SURI
FitsSURI Pro and SURI Core.
Will not fitAnything else.
Plant-based heads with castor oil bristles, sold on subscription or singly.
Handles that share itSuri Pro, Suri Core
Aquasonic
FitsBlack Series and Black Series PRO.
Will not fitAnything else.
Eight heads in the box and the cheapest refills here, which is the whole argument for this brush.
Handles that share itAquasonic Black, Black Series PRO
Bitvae
FitsBitvae sonic handles.
Will not fitAnything else.
Eight heads in the box. When we looked for refills on October 30 only third-party packs came up, so price that in before you buy.
Handles that share itBitvae D2
Quip Rev
FitsBoth Rev handles.
Will not fitOlder sonic Quip handles.
The most expensive head per unit on this page.
Handles that share itQuip Rev, Rev Smart
Waterpik
FitsThe matching Waterpik handle only; the Sonic-Fusion head carries the water jet.
Will not fitEverything else, including the other Waterpik.
On the Sonic-Fusion the head is also the flosser tip, so wear costs you two things at once.
Handles that share itSonic-Fusion 2.0, Sensonic Complete Care
Curaprox CHS
FitsHydrosonic handles.
Will not fitAnything else.
Power, Sensitive and Single heads, sold mostly through dental suppliers.
Handles that share itHydrosonic Pro
Philips One
FitsPhilips One handles.
Will not fitAny rechargeable Sonicare.
A battery brush with its own head. Nothing else in the Philips range shares it.
Handles that share itPhilips One
| Handle | Head family | Per head | Heads per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral-B iO Series 2 | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $10.20 | $41 |
| Oral-B iO Series 3 | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $10.20 | $41 |
| Oral-B iO Series 5 | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $10.20 | $41 |
| Oral-B iO Series 9 | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $10.20 | $41 |
| Oral-B iO Series 10 | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $10.20 | $41 |
| Oral-B iO Kids | Oral-B iO (magnetic click-on) | $12.22 | $49 |
| Oral-B Pro 1000 | Oral-B round (classic shaft) | $12.49 | $50 |
| Oral-B Vitality Pro | Oral-B round (classic shaft) | $12.49 | $50 |
| Oral-B Pro 3 3500 | Oral-B round (classic shaft) | $12.49 | $50 |
| Philips Sonicare 4100 | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $10.26 | $41 |
| Philips Sonicare 5300 | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $10.26 | $41 |
| Philips Sonicare 5900 | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $14.98 | $60 |
| Philips Sonicare 7100 (2026) | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $10.26 | $41 |
| Philips Sonicare 7300 | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $14.25 | $57 |
| Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $14.25 | $57 |
| Philips Sonicare Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige | Sonicare click-on (C2, C3, G2, G3, W2, A3) | $14.25 | $57 |
| Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321) | Sonicare for Kids | $8.00 | $32 |
| Philips Sonicare for Kids, Design a Pet Edition | Sonicare for Kids | $8.00 | $32 |
| Oral-B Kids 3+ Rechargeable | Oral-B Kids | $5.00 | $20 |
| Oral-B Kids Battery Toothbrush (3+) | Oral-B Kids | $5.00 | $20 |
| Laifen Wave Pro | Laifen | $5.00 | $20 |
| SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush | SURI | $6.33 | $25 |
| SURI Core Sonic Toothbrush | SURI | $6.33 | $25 |
| Aquasonic Black Series | Aquasonic | $2.49 | $10 |
| Aquasonic Black Series PRO | Aquasonic | $2.49 | $10 |
| Quip Rev | Quip Rev | $18.46 | $74 |
| Quip Rev Smart | Quip Rev | $18.46 | $74 |
| Waterpik Sonic-Fusion 2.0 | Waterpik | $12.49 | $50 |
| Waterpik Sensonic Complete Care | Waterpik | $12.49 | $50 |
| Curaprox Hydrosonic Pro | Curaprox CHS | $16.16 | $65 |
| Philips One by Sonicare (rechargeable) | Philips One | $5.00 | $20 |
Bigger packs cut these numbers. Subscriptions rarely do.
If a multipack looks far too cheap for the brand on the box, it usually is. Our guide to spotting counterfeit heads has the six checks that take ten seconds on a listing.
Ignore most whitening claims (brushes remove surface stains; they don’t change your natural shade), any mode count past three, and “X% more plaque removed” marketing, which always compares against a manual brush.
Oral-B iO3 or Sonicare 4100?
Almost everyone shopping at this level ends up here. If your gums bleed easily or you have sensitive spots, start with the Sonicare. If you build up tartar quickly or want the most thorough clean per minute, get the Oral-B. Still torn? The difference is smaller than the difference between brushing well and brushing badly. Our Oral-B vs Sonicare comparison has the full breakdown.
Which Oral-B, which Sonicare?
Both brands name their ranges by number, which makes a 5300 and a 5900 sound like neighbours when they are three years and two features apart. Read each column from the bottom up and stop when the next rung stops being worth it.
Where every model sits in its own range
Priced low to high from our Amazon US check on Oct 30, 2026. Each rung says what it adds over the one below, taken from the spec sheet rather than the box.
Oral-B, classic geared handles
- Vitality Pro$30No current Amazon US listing when we checked on Oct 30, 2026.
- Pro 1000$50Adds a pressure warning, 7 more days per charge.
All take the same round heads, so moving up or down this column never strands your refills.
Oral-B iO, magnetic drive
- iO2$60The entry point to this range.
- iO3$110Adds a light-ring timer, a head-change alert.
- iO5$120Adds five modes instead of three, app tracking.
- iO9$220Adds seven modes instead of five, a screen on the handle, a case that charges it.
- iO10$280No current Amazon US listing when we checked on Oct 30, 2026.
Every rung cleans with the same motor and the same iO heads. You are buying feedback and comfort, not a better clean.
Philips Sonicare
- Sonicare 4100$50The entry point to this range.
- Sonicare 5300$75Adds three modes instead of one, a travel case.
- Sonicare 5900$90Adds 7 more days per charge. Also drops to two modes, loses the travel case.
- Sonicare 7300$140Adds four modes instead of two, a case that charges it, app tracking.
- Sonicare 7100$150No current Amazon US listing when we checked on Oct 30, 2026.
- Prestige 9900$380Adds five modes instead of four. Also 7 fewer days per charge.
- Next-Gen 9900$380Adds eight modes instead of five, a screen on the handle.
Any click-on head fits any rung, so the expensive A3 head that ships with the top models is optional on all of them.
Codes on the box are a separate puzzle, and our model number decoder takes any of them.
The whole range in one table
The twelve above are our picks. These are all of them, including the ones we would not buy, so you can filter by the thing you actually care about and sort by price or by what three years costs.
Every brush we track, filtered how you shop
| Brush | Action | Pressure | Battery | Price | 3-year cost | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral-B Pro 1000 | Spinning | Yes | 1–2 weeks | $50 | $187 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Series 2 | Spinning | Yes | Not stated | $60 | $172 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Series 3 | Spinning | Yes | 2 weeks | $110 | $212 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Series 5 | Spinning | Yes | 2 weeks | $120 | $232 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Series 9 | Spinning | Yes | 2 weeks | $220 | $302 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 4100 | Sonic | Yes | 14 days | $50 | $163 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 5900 | Sonic | Yes | 21 days | $90 | $240 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 9900 Prestige | Sonic | Yes | 14 days | $380 | $537 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare for Kids (HX6321) | Sonic | No | Not stated | $35 | $115 | Price |
| Oral-B iO Kids | Spinning | Yes | 28 days | $45 | $179 | Price |
| Oral-B Kids 3+ Rechargeable | Spinning | No | Not stated | $30 | $85 | Price |
| Laifen Wave Pro | Hybrid | Yes | 70 days | $100 | $150 | Price |
| SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush | Sonic | Yes | 4 weeks | $135 | $205 | Price |
| Aquasonic Black Series | Sonic | No | 4 weeks | $40 | $50 | Price |
| Waterpik Sonic-Fusion 2.0 | Sonic | No | Not stated | $180 | $305 | Price |
| Quip Rev | Spinning | Yes | 30 days | $70 | $255 | Price |
| Curaprox Hydrosonic Pro | Sonic | No | Minutes, not days | $252 | $398 | Price |
| Oral-B Kids Battery Toothbrush (3+) | Battery | No | AA cells | $17 | Not priced | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 5300 | Sonic | Yes | 2 weeks | $75 | $167 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare 7300 | Sonic | Yes | 21 days | $140 | $268 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare Next-Gen DiamondClean 9900 Prestige | Sonic | Yes | Not stated | $380 | $522 | Price |
| Philips Sonicare for Kids, Design a Pet Edition | Sonic | No | Not stated | $30 | Not priced | Price |
| SURI Core Sonic Toothbrush | Sonic | Yes | 4 weeks | $75 | $145 | Price |
| Aquasonic Black Series PRO | Sonic | No | 30 days | $60 | Not priced | Price |
| Bitvae D2 | Sonic | No | 60 days | $25 | Not priced | Price |
| Waterpik Sensonic Complete Care | Sonic | No | 4 weeks | $200 | Not priced | Price |
| Quip Rev Smart | Spinning | No | 30 days | $100 | $266 | Price |
Nothing here matches all of those at once. Drop one filter.
Electric toothbrush reviews behind this list
Every brush above has its own full review, and the best picks by need and our Oral-B vs Sonicare page go deeper on choosing. The reviews cover what the box contains, the model numbers to look for, how each brush warns you about pressure, battery claims, head prices from our October 30 check and a three-year cost. Each one ends with the people who should buy something else, because that’s the part most reviews leave out.
Brushes we left off, and why
- Oral-B iO10, Vitality Pro and Philips One: no current listing on Amazon US when we checked. If you find one from a reputable seller, our picks above cover the same needs.
- Sonicare DiamondClean Smart 9300: discontinued on Philips’ US site, though older rankings still recommend it.
- Feno Smartbrush and other U-shaped mouthpiece brushes: around $300 for the Feno, and the evidence that mouthpiece designs clean as well as a regular brush is weak. Our types guide explains why.
- Brushes sold only by resellers or imported: we skip listings where Amazon itself or the brand’s own store isn’t the seller, because warranty claims get complicated.
- Unknown sonic brushes with 10 modes and 6 heads for $20: some are fine, but battery life and spare heads are a lottery. The Aquasonic and Bitvae are the budget picks we’d trust.
How we chose
We don’t run a lab. We compared current models from the major brands on what matters clinically (pressure sensing, timers, head design), read the published research, and went through owner reviews looking for patterns such as batteries that die at 13 months or chargers that fail. On October 30, 2026 we checked more than 140 Amazon US listings for these brushes and their heads, recording who sells each one, its model number, when it first went on sale and its price that day. The prices on this page come from that check, rounded, and the buttons show today’s price. More in how we choose.
While you are here: the two minutes
Whichever brush you end up with, the timer is doing as much work as the motor. Thirty seconds a corner, bristles angled into the gum line, and no pushing. Run it tonight against your current brush and see how short two minutes feels.
Two minutes, four corners
2:00
Press start and begin at the top right.
Thirty seconds a corner. Hold the bristles against the tooth at the gum line and stop pushing; the head does the scrubbing, your hand only moves it along.
And the thing most people forget entirely: the head wears out long before the brush does. Put in the date you last changed yours.
When your head is due
Pick a date and we will count forward in three-month steps.
The American Dental Association says three to four months, or sooner once the bristles splay. Splayed bristles clean worse and are harsher on the gum line, so the look of the head beats the calendar.
Full method, including what to change if your gums bleed or your teeth are sensitive, in how to use an electric toothbrush.
Things readers check with us
For most adults, the Oral-B iO Series 3: quiet iO motor, a visible pressure warning and three useful modes. On a tighter budget, the Oral-B Pro 1000 cleans nearly as well. If you prefer a gentler feel, the Philips Sonicare 4100 or, for Philips' 2026 range, the Sonicare 5900.
What is the best electric toothbrush for adults with sensitive gums?
A sonic brush with adjustable intensity and a pressure warning: the Sonicare 5900, or the 2026 version of the Sonicare 4100 on a budget. Use a soft or sensitive head.
Is Oral-B or Sonicare better?
Neither wins outright. Oral-B’s oscillating heads have a small edge in several clinical comparisons and suit people who build up plaque quickly. Sonicare feels gentler, is often quieter and usually has a longer battery.
Are expensive electric toothbrushes worth it?
Rarely for cleaning. A $50 brush with a pressure sensor and timer cleans about as well as a $380 one. You pay more for quieter motors, screens, apps, charging cases and nicer materials.
What is the best toothbrush for teeth whitening?
No toothbrush changes the natural colour of your teeth. A good electric brush with a polishing head removes surface stains better than a manual brush. See our whitening picks.
What is the best Sonicare toothbrush?
The 4100 for value, the 5900 for Philips’ 2026 range, the 7300 if you want the app and a charging case, and the Prestige 9900 if you want everything. Our Sonicare guide decodes the model numbers.
What are the different types of electric toothbrushes?
Oscillating-rotating (Oral-B, Quip Rev), sonic (Sonicare, SURI, Aquasonic and most others), hybrid (Laifen Wave Pro), battery-powered, and flossing toothbrushes such as the Waterpik Sonic-Fusion. Our types guide explains each one.
How long does an electric toothbrush last?
Three to five years, and the battery is what ends it rather than the motor. Almost none of them have a replaceable cell, so warranties of two years are the only figure the brands stand behind. Our battery guide has the per-charge figures too.
Will Oral-B iO heads fit my old Oral-B?
No. iO heads fit iO handles only. Classic round heads fit every Oral-B that is not an iO. Every modern click-on Sonicare head fits every modern Sonicare handle, which is the most forgiving system here.
Is an electric toothbrush safe with crowns and implants?
Yes, with a soft head on a gentle setting. What wears dental work is an abrasive whitening head along the margin, not the motor. See our picks for dental work.
How often should I replace an electric toothbrush head?
The American Dental Association says every three to four months, or sooner once the bristles splay, and it gives manual and powered brushes the same advice. Most people find three months easier to remember.
Sources we lean on: the Cochrane review of powered vs manual toothbrushes, the ADA’s toothbrush guidance, and product listings on Amazon US checked on October 30, 2026.