Oral-B iO5 vs iO9
Most people should stop at the iO5: the same iO motor and heads, the app and a travel case for about $120. The iO9 adds a colour screen, 3D tracking, seven modes, four heads and a charging case; buy it only if you’ll use those every day.
Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .
Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
The call
The iO5 is the better value. The iO9 is the better gadget.

Choose the iO5 if
you want app feedback on where you brush, five modes and a travel case without paying flagship money.
about $120 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Choose the iO9 if
you want feedback on the handle itself, a case that charges the brush on trips, and four heads in the box.
Jump to a section
The iO9 used to be the “sensible” step below the iO10. On Amazon US in late October 2026 we couldn’t find a current iO10 listing at all, which leaves the iO9 as the top of the range there and turns the question into iO5 or iO9.
| iO5 | iO9 | |
|---|---|---|
| Cleaning action | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive | Oscillating-rotating with magnetic iO drive |
| Brushing modes | 5 (Daily Clean, Whiten, Super Sensitive, Sensitive, Intense) | 7 |
| Intensity levels | 1 | 1 |
| Pressure sensor | Smart sensor: warns of too much and too little pressure | Smart sensor: red too hard, white too soft, green right |
| Timer | Light-ring timer, head-change alert | Colour display: timer, mode, battery, head reminder |
| Battery (brand figure) | About 2 weeks | About 2 weeks |
| Charging | Magnetic charger | 3-hour fast charger plus charging travel case |
| Travel case | Yes | Charging case |
| App | Yes, tracks where you brush | Yes, 3D tracking in 16 zones |
| ADA Seal | Not stated on listing | Not stated on listing |
| Brush heads | iO heads | iO heads |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
| Status | Current | Current |
| Model number (US listing) | iO G5.1A6.1K | iOM9.4B2.2A |
| On Amazon US since | July 2022 | August 2022 |
| Amazon US check | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) | Listed, but no main offer when checked (Oct 30, 2026); price is our estimate |
| Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026) | about $120 | Varies |
| Est. 3-year cost | $232 | $302* |
| Buy | Price | Price |
Identical where it counts
Both use Oral-B’s magnetic iO drive and the same round iO heads, so they clean the same. Both have the smart pressure sensor, which warns when you press too hard and also when you’re too light. Both connect to the Oral-B app.
What the iO9 adds
- A colour display that shows mode, timer, battery and head reminders without your phone. This is the feature owners say they use every day.
- 3D tracking across 16 zones in the app, versus position tracking on the iO5.
- Seven modes instead of five.
- A charging travel case and a fast charger. The iO5’s case doesn’t charge.
- Four heads in the pack we found, against one with the iO5.
Prices on October 30
On October 30 the iO5 sold for about $120. The iO9 listing we tracked had no main Amazon offer that day, so its price in the chart below is our estimate, and you’ll want to see what it costs when you click through. The four heads in the iO9 box offset part of the difference.
Handle Replacement heads
* Partly estimated: the handle had no main Amazon offer, the exact head wasn’t on sale, or only a reseller listed heads.
Tracking: zones versus 3D
Both brushes connect to the Oral-B app, and both show where you’ve brushed. The iO5 works in broad zones, which is enough to reveal the classic misses: the inside of the lower front teeth and the back of the last molars. The iO9’s 3D tracking splits the mouth into 16 zones and also accounts for the inner and outer surfaces. That’s more precise, but it only helps if you open the app, and most people stop after a few weeks.
The screen, day to day
The iO9’s colour display is the feature that survives the novelty. It shows the mode, the timer, the battery and a head-replacement reminder on the handle, without your phone. Over a year, that does more for your habits than the app because you see it every morning. The iO5 uses its light ring for pressure, timing and the head-change alert, which covers the essentials.
What comes in each box
The iO5 on Amazon US comes with one Ultimate White head, a travel case and a charger. The iO9 listing we track includes four heads, a charging travel case and Oral-B’s 3-hour fast charger. Those three extra heads are worth about $30 at October’s prices, which narrows the price gap a little.
Price and three-year cost
The iO5 was about $120 on Amazon US on October 30. The iO9 listing had no main offer that day, so we used an estimate of $220 and marked it in our charts. On those figures, three years come to roughly $230 for the iO5 and $300 for the iO9. If the iO9 drops close to $150 on a sale, the case for it gets much stronger; at full price it’s a luxury.
Coming from an older Oral-B?
If you’re replacing a Pro or Smart series Oral-B, either iO will feel quieter and smoother, and both need new heads: classic Oral-B heads don’t fit any iO. Budget about $10 per iO head from now on. Liked your old brush’s simplicity? The iO5’s light ring will feel familiar; if you liked its display, only the iO9 has a screen.
Which one?
If you want feedback mostly while you learn, the iO5 does that for less. If you’d use a screen every morning and travel often enough to value a charging case, the iO9 is worth it at a sensible price. Don’t want the app at all? Skip both and buy the iO3.
I have crowns, veneers or implants. Is a powered brush safe?
Yes, with a soft or sensitive head on a gentle setting. What damages dental work is an abrasive whitening head worked hard along the margin, not the motor.
What we checkedWhitening heads carry a polishing cup and stiffer bristles. Sensitive and gum care heads in the same packs do not.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5900Price
Can I take it abroad, and will it go on a plane?
On a plane yes: a sealed battery inside a brush travels in hand luggage. Abroad, read the base before you plug it in. Sonicare stands and USB-C handles are usually marked 100 to 240V and need only a plug adapter. Oral-B ships region-specific bases, and a US one often reads 110V, which needs a converter or a local base.
What we checkedOral-B’s own support page says its chargers are region specific and lists 110V, 220 to 240V and 100 to 240V bases separately. The number is printed on the underside.
Our pick for thisLaifen Wave ProPrice
The questions that come up
Yes. They share the same motor and heads. The iO9 adds a screen, more tracking detail, two modes and a charging case.
Is the Oral-B iO10 still available?
We couldn’t find a current iO10 listing on Amazon US when we checked on October 30, 2026. The iO9 is the top iO sold there.
Do the iO5 and iO9 use the same heads?
Yes. All iO handles take iO heads, and iO heads don’t fit older Oral-B handles.
Does the iO5 have a pressure sensor?
Yes. Its light ring shows when your pressure is right and warns you when it’s too high.
Is the iO9 on Amazon US right now?
The listing exists, but on October 30, 2026 it had no main offer from Amazon or Oral-B, so check who’s selling it and the price before you buy.