Jump to the article
Best Electric Brush

SURI Pro review, and whether the new SURI Core is the smarter buy

SURI’s aluminium sonic brush now has a pressure sensor and an optional UV case, and a cheaper bio-based Core arrived in August 2026. Below: which one to buy, and who should skip both.

Written by Nora Lindqvist. Last checked and updated .

Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.

Jump to a section
  1. The SURI Pro, briefly
  2. Bristles: the thing nobody mentions
  3. Heads are cheap, which is unusual for a design brand
  4. SURI Pro or the new SURI Core?
  5. The UV-C case, explained
  6. What SURI claims, and how to read it
  7. The SURI Core, in detail
  8. Recycling and materials
  9. Asked and answered

A naming note first, because it trips people up. Many 2024 and 2025 reviews talk about the “SURI Pro”. On Amazon US the current brush is sold as the SURI Pro, and its model number is S2. It has picked up a pressure sensor along the way. Below it, SURI launched the SURI Core in August 2026.

The SURI Pro, briefly

It’s a slim sonic brush with an aluminium body that charges over USB-C and runs for over four weeks on a charge by SURI’s figure. The pressure sensor tells you when you’re pressing too hard. Heads are made from cornstarch-based plastic with bristles derived from castor oil, and SURI runs a mail-back recycling scheme for them.

There are two packs. The one around $135 includes SURI’s UV-C travel case: a small battery-powered light inside cleans the head in about a minute, and when the case is plugged in it charges the brush too. The pack around $105 drops the UV case.

Bristles: the thing nobody mentions

SURI describes its bristles as medium-soft. Sonicare and Oral-B’s sensitive heads are softer. If your gums are already receding or you flinch at cold water, that matters more than the aluminium handle. SURI’s Amazon listing also doesn’t list modes or intensity levels, so if you need a very gentle setting, a Sonicare 5900 with three intensities is the safer choice.

Heads are cheap, which is unusual for a design brand

A genuine three-pack sold for $18.99 on Amazon US when we checked, about $6.33 a head, and the same heads fit both the Pro and the Core. That’s cheaper per head than iO or Sonicare heads, so the running cost is better than the handle price suggests.

SURI Pro Sonic Toothbrush: the spec sheet
Cleaning actionSonic
Brushing modesNot stated on listing
Intensity levelsNot stated on listing
Pressure sensorYes
Timer2-minute timer
Battery (brand figure)Over 4 weeks (SURI figure)
ChargingUSB-C; the UV case charges the brush
Travel caseUV-C cleaning travel case ($135 pack)
AppNo
ADA SealNot stated on listing
Brush headsPlant-based heads, castor-oil bristles (medium-soft)
WarrantyNot stated on listing
StatusCurrent (model S2); on Amazon US since August 2025
Model number (US listing)S2
On Amazon US sinceAugust 2025
Amazon US checkSold by the brand’s Amazon store (Oct 30, 2026)
Three years of ownership, estimated: the handle plus a fresh head every three months, at Amazon US prices from Oct 30, 2026 and the per-head price of genuine packs. Bigger packs and sales shrink the striped part. A ballpark, not a quote.
Suri Core$145
Sonicare 4100$163
Suri Pro$205
Sonicare 5900$240

Handle Replacement heads

SURI Pro or the new SURI Core?

The Core costs about $75. It keeps the sonic motor, the pressure sensor, the two-minute timer and roughly four weeks of battery. The body is bio-based rather than aluminium, it charges on a small wireless pebble that plugs into USB-C, and instead of a case you get a travel cap and a magnetic mirror mount.

If the UV case is the reason you wanted a SURI, buy the Pro. If you mostly liked the look and the cheap heads, the Core is the better deal, and three years of ownership comes out around $60 cheaper.

Check the SURI Core on Amazon

Today’s price on Amazon

The UV-C case, explained

The $135 SURI Pro pack includes SURI’s redesigned travel case, which has its own battery and a UV-C light that SURI says cleans the head in about a minute. Plug the case in and it charges the brush too. A $105 pack leaves the case out. If you travel more than a few times a year, the case is the reason to buy a SURI; if you don’t, save the $30.

What SURI claims, and how to read it

SURI says its brush is clinically tested to reduce gum inflammation within about two weeks and is up to four times as effective as a manual brush. Those figures come from SURI’s own testing against manual brushing, which is the comparison every powered brush wins. They tell you it works; they don’t tell you it beats a Sonicare or an Oral-B. SURI also leans on Trustpilot ratings in its marketing. We don’t rank brushes on star ratings, ours or anyone else’s.

The SURI Core, in detail

The Core arrived on Amazon US on August 10, 2026, at about $75. It keeps the pressure sensor and two-minute timer, SURI rates its battery at up to four weeks, and it charges on a wireless pebble that plugs into USB-C. Instead of the UV case it has a plant-based travel cap and a button lock. The handle is bio-based (SURI says over 90% renewable material), and it includes the magnetic mirror mount. For most people who want a SURI, the Core is the better value; the Pro’s extras are the aluminium body and the case.

Recycling and materials

SURI’s heads are made from cornstarch with castor-oil bristles, and SURI runs a mail-back scheme to recycle them. The company is B Corp certified. It’s the most convincing sustainability story among the brushes we cover, as long as you remember that a brush you use for five years is greener than one you replace in two.

The SURI Pro is the nicest object in this category, and its heads are cheaper than you’d expect. Buy it because you like it, not because it cleans better. On value, the new Core is the one to look at first.

The ones it gets weighed against

Every line is the Suri Pro subtracted from the other brush, using our Oct 30, 2026 prices. None of it is an impression of the brands.

SURI Core Sonic Toothbrush

SURI Core Sonic Toothbrush

about $75 on Oct 30, 2026

  • $60 cheaper up front
  • about $60 less over three years
Laifen Wave Pro

Laifen Wave Pro

about $100 on Oct 30, 2026

  • $35 cheaper up front
  • about $55 less over three years
  • has an app
  • no travel case

Full review

Philips Sonicare 5900

Philips Sonicare 5900

about $90 on Oct 30, 2026

  • $45 cheaper up front
  • about $35 more over three years
  • heads cost $8.65 more each

Full review

How long before the battery dies, and can it be replaced?

Three to five years is the normal range, and on almost every sealed handle the battery is the end of the brush. Nobody sells you a replacement cell, so treat the warranty length as a hint about how much the brand expects it to last.

What we checkedWarranties on the handles here are two years at Oral-B and Philips. Laifen quotes up to 70 days per charge, which means far fewer charge cycles over the same years.

Our pick for thisLaifen Wave ProPrice

How long each one lasts

Will an electric brush push my gums back?

Not on its own. Recession comes from force and from sawing sideways, and a powered head removes the sawing. Buy a handle that tells you when you are pressing, then rest it on the tooth and let it work.

What we checkedEvery brush on this page over $50 warns you about pressure. The Pro 1000 stops pulsing; the iO3 turns its neck ring red; Sonicare handles buzz in your hand.

Our pick for thisOral-B iO Series 3Price

The two-minute method that stops it

Asked and answered

Amazon US sells the current model as the SURI Pro, model number S2. It’s the brush older reviews call the second-generation Suri, now with a pressure sensor.
Does SURI have a pressure sensor?

Yes. Both the SURI Pro and the SURI Core list a pressure sensor.

Do SURI heads fit both the Pro and the Core?

Yes. SURI says every current head fits both models.

How long does the SURI battery last?

Over four weeks for the Pro and up to four weeks for the Core, by SURI’s figures, with USB-C charging.

Is SURI good for sensitive teeth?

It can be, but the bristles are medium-soft and the listing doesn’t mention a gentle mode. Very sensitive mouths do better with a softer head and adjustable intensity.

Can I buy the SURI Pro without the UV case?

Yes. SURI’s Amazon store sold a version without the case for about $105 when we checked, against about $135 with it.

Does the SURI Core have a pressure sensor?

Yes, along with a two-minute timer and a battery SURI rates at up to four weeks.

Nearby on the site