Sonicare 4100 vs Sonicare 5300
Over three years they cost almost exactly the same. Buy the Sonicare 4100 (about $50) if you just want the brush; buy the 5300 (about $75) if you want three modes, a travel case and three heads in the box.
Written by Dev Marlowe. Last checked and updated .
Amazon links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy, we may get a small cut, and your price stays the same. How this site is funded.
Pick one in ten seconds
Same running cost, different box. The 5300 is the better value if you’ll use the case; the 4100 if you won’t.

Choose the Sonicare 4100 if
you want the simplest Sonicare with a pressure sensor and don’t need a case. The July 2026 version adds three intensity levels.
about $50 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026

Choose the Sonicare 5300 if
you travel, or you want Clean, White and Gum Care modes plus three heads, which covers your first nine months.
about $75 on Amazon US, Oct 30, 2026
Jump to a section
If you want a Sonicare and don’t care about 2026 motors or apps, these are the two to look at. The 4100 was about $50 on October 30, the 5300 about $75.
| Sonicare 4100 | Sonicare 5300 | |
|---|---|---|
| Cleaning action | Sonic (31,000 movements a minute) | Sonic (older drivetrain) |
| Brushing modes | 1 | 3 (Clean, White, Gum Care) |
| Intensity levels | 3 on the 2026 HX4031; older HX3681 varies | Not stated on listing |
| Pressure sensor | Yes: the handle pulses | Yes |
| Timer | SmarTimer, 30-second QuadPacer, EasyStart | SmarTimer, QuadPacer, BrushSync head reminder |
| Battery (brand figure) | Up to 14 days | Up to 2 weeks |
| Charging | Charging stand (USB, no plug) | Charging stand |
| Travel case | No | Yes |
| App | No | No |
| ADA Seal | Yes | Not stated on listing |
| Brush heads | C2 Optimal Plaque Control (click-on) | Click-on Sonicare heads (G2 and W2 DiamondClean in the box) |
| Warranty | 2 years | 2 years |
| Status | Current; refreshed as HX4031 in July 2026 | Current; on Amazon US since 2020 |
| Model number (US listing) | HX3681/24 | HX6423/34 |
| On Amazon US since | December 2021 | February 2020 |
| Amazon US check | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) | Sold by Amazon.com (Oct 30, 2026) |
| Amazon price (Oct 30, 2026) | about $50 | about $75 |
| Est. 3-year cost | $163 | $167 |
| Buy | Price | Price |
Where the 4100 wins
It’s lighter on the wallet up front, and the 2026 refresh of the 4100 (model HX4031) lists three intensities plus an EasyStart feature that ramps up power over your first 14 brushes. For someone nervous about switching to electric, that ramp is a nice touch.
Where the 5300 wins
Three modes (Clean, White, Gum Care) instead of one, a travel case, and three heads in the box instead of one. Those two extra heads were worth about $20 at October 30 prices.
Handle Replacement heads
What’s in each box
The 4100 on Amazon US comes with the handle, one C2 Optimal Plaque Control head and a USB charger, with no wall adapter. The 5300 comes with the handle, one G2 Optimal Gum Care head, two DiamondClean heads, a travel case and a charger. Those two extra heads are worth about $20 at October’s prices, and the case would cost $10 to $15 on its own, which is how a $25 price gap turns into a three-year tie: about $165 for the 4100 and $167 for the 5300 by our estimate.
Modes and intensity
The original 4100 (HX3681) has one mode. The July 2026 refresh (HX4031) adds High, Medium and Low intensity settings and EasyStart, which raises the power gently over your first 14 brushes. The 5300 has three modes, Clean, White and Gum Care; its listing doesn’t mention intensity levels. For sensitive teeth, the HX4031 on Low is the gentler option. For stain-prone teeth, the 5300’s White mode helps.
Battery and charging
Philips rates both at about two weeks per charge. The 4100 charges from USB, so any phone plug works. The 5300 uses a charging stand. Neither has a case that charges the brush; for that, look at the 7300.
Heads and upgrades
Both take every click-on Sonicare head. If you buy the 5300, try each of the heads in the box before you reorder: the G2 is softer at the gumline, and the DiamondClean polishes. Whatever you settle on also fits any Sonicare you buy later.
The motor question
Neither has Philips’ Next-Generation drivetrain, which arrived with the 5900 and 7300 in December 2025. That doesn’t make them worse brushes; it means they’re the older, proven design, priced accordingly.
Three buyers, three answers
Buying one brush for home, never travel: the 4100, ideally the HX4031 version with three intensities.
Travelling a few times a year: the 5300, for the case and the spare heads.
Sensitive teeth or gums: the HX4031 4100 on Low, or step up to the 5900 if you want three intensities with a Gum Health mode and three weeks of battery.
So which one?
If you’ll use a travel case or want a gum care mode, buy the 5300: over three years it costs only a few dollars more. If neither matters, the 4100 is simpler and cheaper today, and the HX4031 version gives you finer control over power.
One tip for 4100 shoppers: Amazon sells the 2021 version (HX3681) and the July 2026 refresh (HX4031) side by side at about the same price. Check the model number if you want the three intensity settings.
My gums bleed when I brush. Should I stop?
No. Bleeding usually means that edge of gum is inflamed and under-cleaned, and it settles once the plaque at the gum line goes. Give it two weeks of gentle, complete brushing. If it is still bleeding after that, book a dentist rather than buying another brush.
What we checkedSonicare’s Gum Health mode and Oral-B’s Sensitive mode both drop the power rather than change the motion, which is why they feel kinder on a sore gum line.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 4100Price
Are the cheap heads on Amazon counterfeit?
Some are. Fakes concentrate in third-party multipacks of Oral-B and Sonicare heads, and the tell is usually bristles that splay inside a month and a collar that rocks on the shaft.
What we checkedWhen we searched for Bitvae D2 refills on October 30, Amazon US showed only third-party packs and no brand store listing.
Our pick for thisPhilips Sonicare 5300Price
The questions that come up
Yes. The handle pulses when you press too hard. The 5300 has one too.
Which is gentler, the 4100 or 5300?
The 2026 4100 lists three intensities and a gradual EasyStart, which makes it easier to tune for sensitive teeth. The 5300 listing doesn’t specify intensity levels.
Do the 4100 and 5300 use the same heads?
Yes, both take any current Sonicare click-on head.
Is the Sonicare 5300 discontinued?
Not on Amazon US: it was sold by Amazon.com when we checked on October 30, 2026, at about $75.
Which is better for gums, the 4100 or 5300?
The 5300 has a Gum Care mode and ships with a G2 gum head; the HX4031 4100 has the gentlest low setting. Either, with its pressure sensor, is a good gum brush.